Please know your Alabama Laws on homeschooling in Al.
Please note. The state does not require any testing at any time. Any standards or subjects at anytime during your child's homeschool education.
- You must register with a cover, church, umbrella, (all mean same thing). This cover must be physically located in the state of Alabama. If you enroll in any curriculum provider online, they are not legal covering. They are just your curriculum providers. Even if you are paying fees and tuition. You will be truant in Alabama. If your cover school does not care what curriculum you use, you may enroll for it. But curriculum providers online are not cover schools. Even if they are accredited.
- Once you have enrolled with a legal cover school (that is physically located in Al). State requires parent of enrolled child to send public superintendent form from said cover school. This form is proof of your enrollment. AHA will email superintendents one, once you have enrolled. But we tell parents to mail them one also. This must be done, law says it is the parent's responsibility. Make sure it is done within 3-5 days from withdrawal date. If you stay with same school you do not mail this form again. You do not mail it or notify your superintendents or public schools yearly.
- Once you are enrolled with a legal covering, you are no longer a member of the public, private system in Al.
- If you do not re-enroll (on time with AHA), transfer, or withdraw. The said cover must notify your public superintendent of this. So if you ever change cover schools, make sure this is done.
- Once the above is completed, you must follow requirements of your cover school.
Re-enrollment with AHA. AHA follows Al law. AHA notifies each public superintendent of all students that did re-enroll by the due date. Which is June 1st, 2012. When your public school begins, if you have not re-enrolled with AHA, or enrolled with a cover, or pubic/private school, you are truant. You will have 3-5 days depending on your system to be enrolled with a school. After that date you are truant. Which means you are breaking the law. This is not a cover school's responsibility. This is parent's.
When parent chooses not to re-enroll on or before re-enrollment date, which is June 1,2012. It puts extra work on AHA, the superintendents office, and your local public school. Really it is no excuse for it. We appreciate families that re-enroll on time. They are following rules and requirements. We are not part of any public system. We do not show favoritism. Families with AHA are treated equal. It is not fair to the ones that do re-enroll on time, when others assume they can re-enroll at their own convenience.
Being on June 1st, 2012. Anyone and everyone who re-enrolls after June 1, 2012 will be charged a late fee.
New to homeschool