Truancy Are you truant?
Alabama's school attendance are some of the strictest in the nation. With the new Early Warning Truancy program, public school officials meet with parents, then court system intervenes.
If you are enrolled with AHA (new enrollment, within 3 days of withdrawal from public/private school) and you are re-enrolled on or before June 1st, 2012. You will not need to worry at all about these laws. They will not apply to you. You are legally covered and obeying the law.
But if you are enrolled now with AHA and you do not re-enroll on or before June 1st, 2012, then please know and understand these laws. You will be under them.
If you new to homeschool: If you are thinking about homeschool.
- Most public school systems began school year 2011-12 August 8,15 or 22nd of 2011. Legally you must be enrolled with public/private school (with child attending school each day) or enrolled with cover school which has to be physically located in Alabama. Go here for list of cover schools. http://www.leapingfromthebox.com/hs/alhschurchcoverstatewide.html.
- You must be enrolled within 3-5 days of first day of public school in your district. (call your district or superintendent and find correct number of days)
- You must mail or carry enrollment form from cover school to your public superintendent.
- If you withdraw your child from public/private at anytime within school year, you must do above.
- If you are enrolled with online school, curriculum provider, online classes, even if they are accredited, even if they are national or worldwide. And yes they have transcripts and diplomas. You are not legally enrolled under homeschool law, you will be truancy. Your cover must be located in Al. If your cover says it is ok with their requirements then you may enroll with these schools and not be truant.
Have Questions? We would be glad to help Email AHA
Code of Alabama (1975) 16-28-12, 12-15-100 and 105, Act 94,
The following are just part of the above laws on truancy and attendance laws in Al. Please read and fully understand these laws.
If found guilty of truancy the following may happen:
- Child under probation, with probation officer.
- $20 paid for every unexcused absence.
- Parent in jail. For every day child has unexcused absence parent spends one day in jail.
- Parent required to attend education program. 6-8 sessions about 2 hours long each.
Can be charged with misdemeanor, fined not more than $100. Sentenced to hard labor for not more than 90 days.
Within each school district they can have further truancy, attendance policies.
School districts are enforcing these laws.